» » Karnivool - Sound Awake
full-dateMP3 1977 mb. | FLAC 1460 mb. | WMA: 1143 mb.
Rock and Pop

Karnivool - Sound Awake flac album

Karnivool - Sound Awake flac album

Performer: Karnivool
Title: Sound Awake
Style: Alternative Metal,Heavy Metal,Alternative Pop/Rock,Alternative/Indie Rock,Contemporary Pop/Rock
Duration: 01:12:03
Location: Blackbird Sound Studio, Perth
Relesed: June 5, 2009
Recording date: 2008 - 2009
Rating: 4.5
Votes: 432
Other formats: WMA DTS MPC FLAC VOC RA

Sound Awake is the second studio album by Australian progressive rock band Karnivool, released on 5 June 2009. The album follows a four-year gap since their debut studio album Themata in 2005. Sound Awake was produced by Forrester Savell (The Butterfly Effect, Dallas Frasca) and recorded at Perth’s Blackbird and Kingdom Studios over several months. It was later mixed at Melbourne's Sing Sing Studios and mastered by Tom Coyne (DJ Shadow, The Roots) at Sterling Sounds in New York City.

Sound Awake' - you can take this album title quite literally. Explosive - highly energetic stuff provided by this Australian combo. As for a quick summary I would say the are acting in the same league with Tool, Sieges Even, probably I should also name Porcupine Tree. Overall "Sound Awake" is a very dynamic and powerful album that will resonate with fans of Tool yet Karnivool inject their own style with some passion and fire. The riffs are ever changing along with tempo shifts, and the mood throughout is consistent with a dark edge and moody atmospheres. It is an excellent lengthy journey and showcases the best of Australian music at its most alternative and progressive.

The core of alternative/nu metal that brought the group success on its debut album, Themata, still holds throughout the bulk of this album, but there are little touches of something else. There's an introspective touch in the looser, slower, and sparser "New Da. There's a touch of Audioslave tucked away in "Set Fire to the Hive," and pieces of a Stone Temple Pilots or Velvet Revolver idea in the same piece. The Perth outfit has clearly spent time listening to some of the influences here

Sound Awake' cements Karnivool at the top of the Australian rock pile. For anyone that has been following Karnivool since the release of their critically acclaimed debut Themata in early 2005, Sound Awake is more than anything else, a relief. A relief because its finally here after being ‘six months away’ for the past two years and also because it is such a huge step up from Themata. It is however, a moot point to compare the two records as they are so different.

About Sound Awake 1 contributor. Sound Awake is the second studio album by Australian progressive rock band Karnivool, released on 5 June 2009. Tap and hold to copy URL. Sound Awake Tracklist. 1. Simple Boy Lyrics.

Listen free to Karnivool – Sound Awake (Simple Boy, Goliath and more). After returning from touring in the US, Karnivool returned to Australia in 2008. They entered the studio to write their follow-up to Themata. Goddard stated the new album, Sound Awake would be a huge step up from Themata, while Stockman stated that the writing process of the new record had been more of a collaborative group effort by the band than previous works, and that they were going into the studio with a new recording strategy: trying to focus less on minute details, and put together a more natural.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Simple Boy Karnivool 5:47
2 Goliath Karnivool feat: Talfryn Dawlings / Zak Hanyn / Jules Pacy-Cole / Jessop Maticeuski Shumack / Javin Sun 4:37
3 New Day Karnivool 8:20
4 Set Fire to the Hive Karnivool 4:28
5 Umbra Karnivool 7:50
6 All I Know Karnivool 4:53
7 The Medicine Wears Off Karnivool 1:49
8 The Caudal Lure Karnivool 6:16
9 Illumine Karnivool 5:12
10 Deadman Karnivool 12:04
11 Change Karnivool 10:47


Jason Bunn - Viola
Louise Conray - Percussion
Tom Coyne - Mastering
Talfryn Dawlings - Primary Artist
Chris Frey - Concept, Design
Prue Glenn - Conductor
Drew Goddard - Group Member
Zak Hanyn - Primary Artist
Mark Hosking - Group Member
Steve Judd - Group Member
Joey K. - Cover Design, Layout
Karnivool - Engineer, Primary Artist, Producer
Ian Kenny - Group Member
Sam Tilot Kickett - Didjeridu
Grant McCulloch - Vocals
Prasheen Naran - Pro-Tools
Nicole Norelli - Photography
Jules Pacy-Cole - Primary Artist
Dave Parkin - Drum Engineering, Mixing
Mick Rafferty - Mixing Assistant
Forrester Savell - Engineer, Mixing, Producer
Jessop Maticeuski Shumack - Primary Artist
Jon Stockman - Group Member
Javin Sun - Primary Artist
Vox Minor Boys - Vocals
2016-2019 © www.velo-city.ca
All rights reserved