» » John Renbourn / Wizz Jones - Joint Control
full-dateMP3 1152 mb. | FLAC 1374 mb. | WMA: 1698 mb.

John Renbourn / Wizz Jones - Joint Control flac album

John Renbourn / Wizz Jones - Joint Control flac album

Performer: John Renbourn / Wizz Jones
Title: Joint Control
Duration: 53:35
Relesed: September 9, 2016
Rating: 4.2
Votes: 510
Other formats: MIDI AU VOX MMF TTA AAC

2 John Renbourn and Wizz Jones. 3 Lazy Farmer (including Wizz Jones). 4 Wizz Jones and Werner Lämmerhirt. 5 Anthology – Alex Campbell, Andy Irvine, Wizz Jones, Finbar Furey, Dolores Keane et al. . 6 Wizz Jones & Ralph McTell. Jones started to become a singer-songwriter. His first solo album was Wizz Jones in 1969. Eight of the songs were written by his long-time friend Alan Tunbridge, who also designed the sleeve artwork. Up to 1988, ten solo albums followed and he played on Ralph McTell's single "Easy" in 1974.

Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – John Renbourn, Wizz Jones.

The pair had been touring in the months before Renbourn’s passing and recorded 13 songs – one of them an original piece called Balham Moon. Jones says: It was always a great pleasure to meet up with John and play the odd gig together over the 50 plus years that we’ve known each other, so when the opportunity arose about three years ago for us to tour. Jones is among a host of performers appearing at a special John Renbourn tribute show at Cecil Sharp House in London on September 22.

At the time of John’s death, Joint Control was almost entirely finished. The pair had been working together since the start of the year in a small studio, about an hour from John’s Hawick home.

This charming, effortlessly classy album is the final recording by John Renbourn. One of the guitar heroes of the 60s folk-baroque scene, he was a co-founder of Pentangle, along with Bert Jansch, and in recent years had been touring with another fine British guitarist and laidback singer, Wizz Jones

Or consider a donation? Track List. Hey Hey. Buckets of Rain. Fresh as a Sweet Sunday Morning. No one has said anything yet. Contributions By. jed1mark, patton.

John Renbourn offers an intricate counterpoint, it’s easy to imagine him sitting back as Wizz launches off in one direction and then, with a smile, leaning into his guitar and producing the most devastatingly beautiful accompaniment. A case in point is what he adds to Wizz’s take on Archie Fisher’s Mountain Rain. If there’s a poignancy to Blues Run the Game, recalling that early casualty of the sixties folk guitar boom then poignancy is heaped upon poignancy for the pairs’ take on Bert Jansch’s Fresh as a Sweet Sunday Morning.

Stefan Grossman & John Renbourn.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Hey Hey William Broonzy Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 3:04
2 Buckets of Rain Bob Dylan Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 4:20
3 Glory of Love Billy Hill Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 2:41
4 Getting There Mose Allison Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 3:18
5 National Seven Alan Tunbridge Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 4:04
6 Mountain Rain Archie Fisher Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 4:41
7 Great Dream From Heaven Joseph Spence Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 6:17
8 Strolling Down the Highway Bert Jansch Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 4:58
9 In Stormy Weather Al Jones Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 3:05
10 Balham Moon Wizz Jones Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 3:16
11 Blues Run the Game Jackson Carey Frank Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 3:33
12 Fresh as a Sweet Sunday Morning Bert Jansch Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 4:30
13 Joint Control Bert Jansch Wizz Jones / John Renbourn 5:48


Mose Allison - Composer
William Broonzy - Composer
John Chandler - Photography
Bob Dylan - Composer
Archie Fisher - Composer
Jackson Carey Frank - Composer
Brad Haynes - Coordination, Design
Billy Hill - Composer
Colin Hood - Engineer, Mixing
Bert Jansch - Composer
Al Jones - Composer
Simeon Jones - Photography
Wizz Jones - Composer, Guitar (Acoustic), Primary Artist, Vocals
David Kilpatrick - Photography
Roger M. Kinsey - Photography
Alan Marshall - Photography
Peter Paphides - Liner Notes
Neil Record - Coordination
John Renbourn - Guitar (Acoustic), Primary Artist, Vocals
Rex Features - Photography
Colin Riddle - Cover Photo
Joseph Spence - Composer
Alan Tunbridge - Composer
2016-2019 © www.velo-city.ca
All rights reserved